Timothy Perkins


Native American Culture

Timothy Perkins provides presentations on Native Americans covering history, culture, and their contributions to the American story. In addition, he speaks to organizations about veterans and diversity and how inclusion can contribute to everyone’s success – tailored to your audience.

Timothy is a Native American veteran with over 32 years of military service. He served for over 10 years in the U.S. Army before transitioning to the Iowa Army National Guard for 22 years. During his service, he had been stationed in Washington, Texas, and Arkansas. Tim was deployed for Operation Noble Eagle (Homeland Security) and served in Afghanistan and Iraq. During this time, he served in various leadership positions as a recruiter, leadership instructor, logistician, medic, and Equal Employment Opportunity Manager.

Timothy retired from the military in August of 2018 as a Sergeant Major. Currently, he is the Equal Employment Program Manager for the Veteran’s Affairs Central Iowa Healthcare System. He serves as a commissioner on the Iowa Governor’s Commission on Native American Affairs. He is also a committee member on the Iowa Workforce Development Minority Outreach and Unemployment Standing Committee and the Greater Des Moines Partnership Inclusion Council.

Some of Timothy’s awards include: Meritorious Service Medal (2nd Award), Army Commendation Medal (4th Award), Army Achievement Medal (4th Award), Good Conduct Medal (5th Award), Army Reserve Component Achievement Medal (4th Award), National Defense Ribbon w/ Star, Afghanistan Campaign Medal, Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, Armed Forces Reserve Medal w/M device (2nd Award), Army Superior Unit Award, Air Assault Badge, US Army Recruiting Badge (3rd Star), Career Counselor Badge, ARNG Recruiting and Retention Master Badge, Society of American Indian Government Employees (SAIGE)- DOD Meritorious Employee of the Year, and Enlisted Association of the National Guard U.S. Honor Guard NCO of the Year.